Established in 1864, Oamaru Cricket Club is one of the ten oldest cricket clubs in New Zealand and one of North Otago's most successful, having won the Borton Cup more than 30 times.
Oamaru has provided many talented players since its inception who have represented both North Otago and Otago, and two New Zealand test representatives in John F. Reid and David Sewell.
Originally located at the Oamaru Cricket Ground (now Takaro Park) the club moved to the New Cricket Ground in 1877 near the present day A&P Showgrounds. It was here that Oamaru played an Australian XI in 1878 and played an English XI in 1882. Recent years has seen the club base themselves at Awamoa Park on Oamaru's South Hill, and now the North End of town sharing clubrooms with Excelsior Rugby. The chocolate brown coloured clubrooms of Awamoa Park give Oamaru their nickname 'the Choccos', endearingly coined by Aaron Dawe in the 1990s.
In conjunction with Excelsior Sports Club and North Otago Cricket Association, the cricket ground infrastructure and changing facilities at the club's home ground are in the process of being upgraded to a high standard. The positioning of the ground being sheltered by trees from the prevailing easterly sea breeze and the elevated viewing platform from the clubrooms make it a pleasure to play at and a relaxing and enjoyable experience to watch cricket from.
Oamaru challenge Celtic of Timaru each year for the Ray McBeth Trophy, named in honour of a strong member of both clubs who died tragically as a young man.
Oamaru encourages its players to play good, hard competitive cricket while also enjoying the social side of the game after the match. Genuine camaraderie and life long friendships have been forged at the club, and this continues to be a focus today.